Day: February 27, 2014

Cold

There is something I noticed today while filming a story for my Reporting for Television class. 

It’s. Bloody. Cold. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m Canadian and I like the cold as much as everyone else. I love snowmobiling, skiing, snowshoeing, building snow forts. All of it. But my god was it windy today too. And it’s the cold that really makes the difference. 

Take today for example. In Toronto it was averaging -12 degrees, with a windchill of -22. It’s not bad considering the winter this year has lows of -40 and below. My crew and I were standing on the streets trying to get someone, anyone to talk to us. No one would because of the cold! There was one street that we were on that every single person we asked replied (hand over face to block the wind) “No… It’s far too cold to stop.” 

I get it. No one likes being stuck in the cold, talking to a bunch of Ryerson students asking questions like “What do you think of the potholes this year? Do you think they’re getting worse?” At that point, no one cares. The city could be literally collapsing around everyone’s feet, and everyone would be worried about getting inside and out of the bitter wind. I am not faulting anyone. 

But next time, if you see students who are trying to interview people, please, at least consider taking the time to talk to them. Remember, as cold as you are, they have to stay outside until someone does talk to them, and they get enough interviews.